Auckland University Of Technology Notable Alumni

AUT has over 100,000 graduates, and their achievements are a constant source of inspiration and pride for students, alumni and AUT staff. We celebrate that pride through initiatives like networking events and our Insight magazine all aimed at helping the next generation of AUT students go further. If you’re a graduate, make sure your details are up to date with us so we can share our latest news.

  • Alexandra Brewis Slade, anthropologist
  • Margaret Brimble, organic chemist
  • Dianne Brunton, ecology academic, professor at Massey University
  • Colleen M. Flood, professor at University of Ottawa and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Rom Harré, Oxford philosopher
  • Christian Hartinger, inorganic chemist
  • Harry Hawthorn, Canadian anthropologist
  • John Hood, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford
  • Charlotte Macdonald, historian
  • Diane M. Mackie, social psychologist
  • Susan Moller Okin, philosopher
  • Peter C. B. Phillips, economist
  • Elizabeth Rata, professor of education
  • Graham Smith, academic
  • Rory Sweetman, historian
  • Ronald Syme, pre-eminent New Zealand classicist of the 20th century
  • Rorden Wilkinson, political economist
  • David Wills, translator of Jacques Derrida
  • Gill Gatfield, sculptor
  • Bob Kerr, artist and author
  • Rachael McKenna, photographer[112]
  • Constant Mews, authority on medieval religious thought
  • Cheryll Sotheran, founder of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
  • Vidyamala Burch, writer and mindfulness teacher
  • Vincent Cheng, chairman of HSBC
  • Shayne Elliott (born 1963/64), New Zealand banker
  • Paul Huljich, CEO of Best Corporation, author
  • Ross Keenan (born 1943), businessperson[113]
  • Jane Taylor, chair of New Zealand Post and Landcare Research
Film and television
  • Philippa Boyens, Academy Award-winning screenwriter
  • Niki Caro, film director, producer and screenwriter.
  • Jacqueline Feather, screenwriter
  • Lucy Lawless, actress
  • Christine Tan, CNBC news anchor
  • Yasmine Ryan (ca. 1983 – 2017), journalist
  • Marcus Chang, Taiwanese singer-songwriter & actor
  • Gary Chaw, singer-songwriter
  • Gareth Farr, composer
  • Tim Finn, musician
  • Jeffrey Grice, pianist
  • Ashley Lawrence, conductor
  • Marya Martin, flautist
  • Douglas Mews, early music specialist
  • Shirley Setia, singer-songwriter youtuber
  • Wilma Smith, Fijian-born concert violinist and music teacher
Politics and law
  • Jan Beagle, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations
  • Helen Clark, former Prime Minister of New Zealand, former Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme
  • Colin Craig, businessman and leader of the Conservative Party of New Zealand
  • Sian Elias, New Zealand Chief Justice 1999-2019
  • Jeanette Fitzsimons, New Zealand politician and environmentalist
  • Lowell Goddard, Judge[114]
  • Jonathan Hunt, former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Order of New Zealand
  • Sir Kenneth James Keith, New Zealand Judge appointed to the International Court of Justice
  • David Lange, former Prime Minister of New Zealand
  • Viliami Latu, Tongan Minister of Police
  • Tuilaepa Aiono Sailele Malielegaoi, Prime Minister of Samoa
  • Leslie Munro, former New Zealand’s permanent representative to the United Nations, former President of the Trusteeship Council, former President of the United Nations General Assembly, three times President of the Security Council
  • Winston Peters, politician and leader of the NZ First party
  • Anthony Randerson, New Zealand Chief High Court Judge from December 2004 to February 2010. Now a Judge of the New Zealand Court of Appeal
  • Mike Rann, former Premier of South Australia, and future Australian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom
  • Anand Satyanand, Governor General, New Zealand 2006-2011
  • Peter Thomson, Fijian diplomat, Fiji’s former Permanent Representative to the United Nations, former President of the General Assembly of the United Nations
  • Taufa Vakatale, former Deputy Prime Minister of Fiji
  • Vangelis Vitalis, diplomat
  • Helen Winkelmann, New Zealand Chief Justice 2019–present
Science and technology
  • Sir Vaughan Jones, Fields medallist
  • Sir Harold Marshall, acoustician and architect
  • Stephen Parke, physicist
  • William Sage Rapson, chemist
  • Daniel Frank Walls, physicist
  • Crispin Gardiner, physicist
  • Howard Carmichael, physicist
  • Ross Ihaka, statistician
  • Penelope Brothers, chemist
  • Jo Aleh (born 1986), sailor, national champion, world champion, and Olympic champion
  • Russell Coutts (born 1962), yachtsman
  • Mahé Drysdale (born 1978), Australian-born New Zealand rower
  • Gavin Hastings (born 1962), Scottish rugby player
  • Michael Jones (born 1965), rugby player and coach
  • Jerome Kaino (born 1983), American Samoan-born New Zealand rugby player
  • Jean Spencer (born 1940), United Kingdom-born New Zealand Olympic gymnast
  • Eliza McCartney (born 1996), New Zealand Olympic pole vaulter