Auckland University Of Technology Public Health

Part of health sciences at AUT, the Public Health department covers a range of undergraduate and postgraduate programmes from public and environmental health to emergency management, health care ethics, and violence and trauma studies.

Our academic staff are widely known for their expertise across the field of public health, and our coursework and research programmes attract local and international students and academics. The programmes strengthen practice and research expertise in public health, environmental health, emergency and disaster management, health care ethics, and violence and trauma studies.

Undergraduate courses

Undergraduate study in public health will give you a solid grounding in this area.

  • Bachelor of Health Science in Public and Environmental Health
  • Graduate Certificate in Health Science
  • Graduate Diploma in Health Science
  • Graduate Diploma in Psychotherapy Studies

Postgraduate courses

The Public Health department offers a range of postgraduate degrees:

Emergency and disaster management
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Emergency Management
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Emergency Management
  • Master of Emergency Management
Health care ethics programmes
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Health Science
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Health Science
  • Master of Health Science
Public health programmes
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Public Health
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Public Health
  • Master of Public Health
Other postgraduate programmes
  • Master of Philosophy
  • Doctor of Health Science
  • Doctor of Philosophy

Public Health

Head of Department

Heather Came


Kate Diesfeld

Head of Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Development

Deborah Hay

Postgraduate Programme Leaders

Loïc Le Dé 
Radilaite Cammock
Warwick Pudney

Undergraduate Programme Leader

Ailsa Holloway

Senior lecturers

Cath Conn
Nadia Charania
Sari Andajani-Sutjahjo


Amanda B Lees
Charles Mpofu 
Chrystal Walker
Jean Allen
Litiuingi Ahio
Margaret Hinepo Williams
Patsi Davies
Radilaite Cammock

Emergency and Disaster Management

Ailsa Holloway
Loïc Le Dé 
Nadia Charania

Violence and Trauma Studies

Chrystal Walker
Warwick Pudney

Contact us

Kim Squire
Administration Support
Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 6926