Auckland University Of Technology Shiksha

Established in 2000, Auckland University of Technology (AUT) is a publically-owned institution for higher education and research. Founded as Auckland Technical School in 1895, the institution rendered evening classes to students. The institution began offering daytime classes and changed the name to Auckland Technical College. It was in 2000 that the institution was granted the university status and hence got the current name. It has affiliations from the Association of Asia Pacific Business Schools (AAPBS), Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), and Consejo Latinoamericano de Escuelas de Administracion (CLADEA).

AUT also has collaborations with numerous big and small organizations such as NASA, Air New Zealand, Spark, and Orion Health.

The university operates three campuses in Auckland Central (City Campus) and suburbs of Northcote (North Campus) and Manukau (South Campus). The campuses boast of excellent learning spaces, administrative offices, and recreational and residence halls. AUT renders free counseling sessions and mental health support services to students from expert mental health advisors. There are several cafes, bars, and restaurants on each campus; providing a range of healthy food items and beverages. Other on-campus facilities include libraries, gyms, training halls, athletic spaces, printing centers, student lounges, childcare centers, bookshops, and student service centers. Students can access free Wi-Fi at every corner of the campus.

AUT provides an on-campus housing facility to students in the apartment- and townhouse-style catered and self-catered rooms. Each campus is close to shopping, entertainment, and recreational centers. AUT operates several buses to enable easy mobility across the campuses.

The academic structure of the Auckland University of Technology has five faculties, which further subdivide into 17 schools. The university offers over 250 programs in varied disciplines of art, design, economics, science, business, education, engineering, mathematics, computer science, clinical studies, creative technologies, communication studies, languages, psychology, nursing, tourism and hospitality, law, public health, social science, and sports. Auckland University of Technology is an ethnically vibrant community of 29,250 learners, and 3,400 staff including 195 professors and associate professors. About 994 students are pursuing their doctoral degrees at the university. There are around 5,600 international students at the university, who make up approximately 19% of the whole student population.

AUT has a vast alumni network of over 100,000 graduates across the globe. The university also has many alumni who have gained success in the fields of media, technology, education, and politics. Some notable names in the list are Carol Hirschfeld (journalist, documentary maker, and media executive), Stephen Tindall (The Warehouse’s founder), Bruce Leslie McLaren (engineer and race car designer), Annette Sylvia Presley (entrepreneur and Slingshot’s co-founder), Charlotte Glennie (First Asian ABC correspondent), Peter Williams (para-alpine sit skier), Jim Anderton (New Zealand politician), Claire Jane McLachlan (academician), Dominic Bowden (TV show presenter), Joel Defries (former BBC presenter), Pippa Wetzell (journalist) and Duncan Garner (TV and radio presenter).