Banks in Australia

List of Banks in Australia

Banking in Australia is dominated by four major Banks: Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Westpac Banking Corporation, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group, and National Australia Bank.

There are several smaller banks with a presence throughout the country, and a large number of other financial institutions, such as credit unions, building societies, and mutual banks, which provide limited banking-type services and are described as authorised deposit-taking institutions (ADIs).

List of Banks in Australia

AMP Bank
ANZ – Australia and New Zealand Banking Group
Commonwealth Bank
IMB Bank
ME – Members Equity Bank
NAB – National Australia Bank
St George Bank
Suncorp Group
Westpac Bank
Beyond Bank Australia
Defence Bank
Delphi Bank
Hume Bank
G&C Mutual Bank
Rural Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank
Bank of Sydney
Police Bank
Bank Australia
Bank of Melbourne
Bendigo Bank
Macquarie Bank
Auswide Bank
Bank of Queensland
Heritage Bank
P&N Bank
Adelaide Bank
MyState Bank

Foreign-owned Subsidiary Banks in Australia

Foreign banks wishing to carry on a banking business in Australia must obtain a banking authority issued by APRA under the Banking Act, either to operate as a wholesale bank through an Australian branch or to conduct business through an Australian-incorporated subsidiary.

Foreign banks engaging in retail banking require a full banking licence.

Arab Bank Australia
Bank of China Australia
Citibank Australia
Deutsche Bank Australia
HSBC Bank Australia
ING Direct Australia
Investec Bank Australia
Rabobank Australia

International Money Transfer Companies

HIFX Bank Australia